Atlanta Property Management Blog

Get to know Allison - BRG's Rental Department Assistant

System - Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Dayton, Ohio and lived there until I graduated high school. After high school, I followed my mom down to the Peach State, where I have lived since I was 18. I absolutely LOVE Georgia and couldn’t imagine moving back to Ohio, though it’s still home to me as all of my immediate family still live there. I am in love with the weather down here, although just as bi-polar as Ohio, there is rarely a grey sky and let’s not forget the lack of snow.

How did you arrive at TCM/BRG?

Backyard Realty Group is my second job in rentals. Previous to this, I worked and managed in retail and then moved to an apartment complex where I was a leasing agent for short time before becoming the leasing manager. It was there that I discovered my passion and how much I enjoy real estate and this business. Apartments just weren’t my groove though, and I was beyond lucky enough to find an open position at BRG in the rental department.

What’s most gratifying about your position?

I’m a helper – that’s easily one of the most commonly used words when asked to describe myself. I love lending a hand to those who need assistance or someone to help them understand a situation.

How long have you been at TCM/BRG?

I started at Backyard in August of 2015.

What was your favorite moment at TCM/BRG and why?

I love coming to work every day and learning new things and having new adventures with my work family. Every day is brand new and we’re always super crazy together.

What do you like to do for fun?

I typically end up in some random town or state at least once a month with my boyfriend. We love going on adventures and traveling. On a normal day, however, I love reading and expressing my creativity in arts and crafts, writing, etc and hanging out with my friends and sorority sisters. I’m an alumnae of Omega Phi Alpha, National Service Sorority. In the fall, all I talk about is Ohio State football, (go figure that two out of the three other people in my department are from That State Up North.)

Tell us about your family:

Biologically I have three brothers, two younger (twins) and one older. On top of that, I’ve got 4 step-sisters and 2 step-brothers, along with a handful of in-laws. I have 6 nephews and 1 niece – I’m constantly surrounded by boys! My mom and step-dad live here, in Georgia. My dad’s family is in Ohio, one step-sister in Delaware and another in Canada. We’re all over the place.